Tags

,

Mogoşoaia Palace was built by Constantin Brâncoveanu between 1698 and 1702, being representative for the Brâncovenesc style. It is considered to be the crowning of the Romanian Renaissance architectural style for laic monuments.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

During the years, the palace was passed from one owner to another. In 1911, the palace was offered as a wedding gift to Martha Bibescu, a Romanian writer. She immediately started the works of reconstruction and restoration, spending most of the fortune earned through her writings. The palace was inaugurated in 1927, but it wasn’t until 1935 that the interior works ended. In 1957, the palace became the headquarters of the feudal section of the National Art Museum. Supposed to be the most important non-religious monument in Wallachia, Mogoşoaia Palace currently houses a museum (Museum of Aulic Tradition) and art gallery. Together with the other attractions of the Mogoşoaia Palace Museum Complex, it forms an important tourist attraction.

The main building of the complex is the palace, which housed the Brâncoveanu princely family’s apartments at the first floor. These could be reached directly from the courtyard, by means of an exterior staircase and balcony. The ground floor included the servants’ rooms, while at the basement there was the cellar. The palace’s facade presents many arches, which rise to the level of the first floor. Apart from these features, characteristic to the Brâncovenesc style, the palace also borrowed Venetian and Ottoman architectural elements which contribute to its beauty.

In the past, the domain was full of annexes, such as the old kitchen (cuhnia), the ice room, servants’ houses and guest houses. Many of these buildings can still be admired and visited, together with the palace, the gate tower, d’Elchingen villa, Gate of Târgovişte, the precinct walls, the Bibescu necropolis and the greenhouses. During the summer, Lake Mogoşoaia, which borders the domain, offers many recreation possibilities to the tourists. Outside the palace’s walls, next to the gate tower, you can visit “Sfântul Gheorghe” church. It was built by Brâncoveanu in 1688, and impresses through its shapes and decorations, but also through the interior paintings, especially the votive painting depicting Constantin Brâncoveanu and his four sons.

How to get there:

Mogoşoaia is situated 14km north-west of Bucharest.

By car: From Bucharest, take Griviţei Avenue and then DN1A to Mogoşoaia.

By bus: From Bucharest’s North Railway Station (Gara de Nord), take trolley #97 up to Strauleşti Cemetery station, and then bus #460 to Mogoşoaia.

There are also regular private bus rides from Bucharest (Chibrit Square) to Buftea, which stop at Mogoşoaia. They have a daily schedule, between 5:30 and 21:50, with departures from Bucharest at every 10 minutes.

Contact:

Address: Valea Parcului St, no 1, Mogoşoaia

Tel: +40 21 350 66 20, +40 21 350 66 21

Fax: +4 021 350 66 18

E-mail: office@palatebrancovenesti.ro

Website: http://www.palatebrancovenesti.ro/bkp/en/

Opening hours:

May 1st – November 1st: 10:00 – 18:00; Monday – closed.

November 1st – May 1st: 10:00 – 18:00; Monday – closed.

Ticket price: 5 lei

English and French guided visit: 8 lei

Parking: 4 lei